Mental Illness

My History of Medications.

I haven’t had to switch my medications as much as some other people I know, but I have switched enough times to know that it gets frustrating. Throughout my course of treatment, I’ve been on five different medications so far.

Today, I thought I would talk about my journey with medications.

I started out on Zoloft. My first psychiatrist (whom I did not like) put me on it the very first time I saw her. This was the very first antidepressant, and I loved it. My quality of life slowly but dramatically increased. I never knew that life could be that good; I was truly happy for the first time that I could remember.

Then, that same psychiatrist put me on Buspar, an antianxiety medication. This was a result of my telling her about my obsessive tendencies. At first, this medication worked wonders. My anxiety level decreased, and I was feeling really good.

Pretty soon after I went on the Buspar, I went into the psychiatric hospital. The doctors there changed me from Zoloft to Prozac, and that’s been working a lot better for me. I’ve worked my way up to 40mg of Prozac, which is what I’m on right now. Prozac, in my opinion, is a lot better than Zoloft, especially if you have OCD or obsessive tendencies.

I went through a brief period of being on Wellbutrin, but that did not work for me at all. My current psychiatrist, H, took me off that and put me on Abilify. I take 5mg at night, and it’s working really well for me.

Today is my second day not taking Buspar. I accidentally forgot to take my meds the other day, and I realized that I felt a lot better. I researched which of my medications fades from your system the fastest and found out that Buspar does. I decided to take myself off Buspar as an experiment, and I’ve felt great.

The past two days have been really nice. I’ve actually been able to stay at work all day (something I haven’t been able to do in months), and I’m feeling good on top of that. It’s pretty incredible.

My next appointment with H isn’t until next month, but I might give her office a call and update her with what’s going on just to see if it’s okay that I took myself off one of my medications. H is a really great doctor, and she actually listens to me. I don’t think she’ll have a problem with it, but I want to let her know just in case.

I really hope things keep going in this direction for a while!

(P.S. Shoutout to the Paper Doll from The Paper Doll Therapy Blog for being the first person to comment on my blog! Thank you!)

signature

4 thoughts on “My History of Medications.

  1. Pingback: I’m Improving.
  2. Oh yay! Thank you for the shout-out! I am on celexa, have been for years, I think this is the year we maybe try to see what life is like without it – I’m so glad you have a psych who listens to you – that’s so important!

    Like

    1. No problem, thank you for the comments! 🙂 I’m going to look at your blog as soon as I get home from work! Ooh, I would love to see how it goes if/when you go off the Celexa. I’d like to go off my meds eventually, but that’ll probably be a long time off. My psych is great! I lucked out big time. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

