Minimalism

My Experience With Minimalism.

One day, I stumbled across the idea of minimalism when I was browsing Facebook. Someone posted a minimalist aesthetic post, and I was intrigued. I had always been the type of person to think that more is more, never less is more. I liked to have a lot of decorations everywhere, and blank space was a big no-no to me.

Minimalism, however, challenged those thoughts in me. The idea of only having what you need and nothing more caused me to reevaluate my priorities. Do I really need  a Keurig when I don’t even drink coffee? Do I really need a tablet when I already have a laptop?

I’m by no means a “perfect minimalist,” and I’m not even sure such a thing exists. Minimalism is different to everyone, so there’s no right or wrong way to be a minimalist. But here’s what I have minimized and what I plan to minimize at some point.

What I Have Minimized.

When I first started getting into this idea of minimizing my space, I went a little overboard… okay, maybe a lot overboard. I ended up getting rid of most of my furniture and replacing it with cushions and bean bags. I loved the way it looked, but it was less than functional. So I replaced the couch and dining room table.

I also got rid of my television because I thought I could just use my laptop to watch shows and movies on. By all rights, this was and still is true. But I just like having a larger screen to watch movies on when I want to.

Some things that I minimized were actually a good thing, though. My microwave is a good example. I was looking in my kitchen, wondering what I really needed and what I just wanted. I saw the microwave, and I decided it needed to go. The only things I cooked in the microwave anyway were unhealthy meals and snacks, so that wasn’t very beneficial for me. I sold my microwave (something I did with almost all the things I got rid of… cha ching!) and replaced it with a toaster oven. It’s not really minimalistic in the traditional sense since I replaced one thing with another, but it was minimalistic for me because I got rid of something I didn’t need and replaced it with something I did need. By the way, toaster ovens are so much better than microwaves.

Bottom Line.

I love minimalism. It has changed my life for the better, and I couldn’t be more grateful. My priorities are more in line with my values now, and I’m able to see what I need versus what I want. I’m not quite as susceptible to advertising and such anymore. My choices are my own now instead of my choices belonging to the whim of whatever’s popular on the market now.

I’ll have another post up soon all about resources for minimalists, so stay tuned!

signature

 

3 thoughts on “My Experience With Minimalism.

    1. Whoa, that’s a lot of clothes! You should definitely look into it. 🙂 I’m actually writing a post right now with resources for people interested in minimalism. It’s a really cool concept!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

