Yoga

Down Dog App Review.

I started using the Down Dog app (created by Adrienne Kimberley) exactly a week ago, and I can safely say that I love, love, love it!

Today, I’d like to share with you exactly why I love this app and why, if you like yoga, you will love it, too!

(By the way, I’m not being paid to write this. I just really love this app and want to share it with more people!)

A Brief Overview.

To me, is the coolest thing about this app is that, each time you go to practice your yoga, Down Dog gives you a different sequence.

You can choose from three types of yoga: Restorative, Full Practice, or On Your Feet. Restorative yoga is a type of yoga that helps you unwind rather than train your body. In this app’s version of restorative yoga, you spend all your time doing postures on your back. The Full Practice is the mode I use most often. It takes you through standing, seated, and lying down postures. I haven’t used the On Your Feet mode yet, but I’ll update this post if/when I do!

Once you’ve chosen your yoga type, you

warrior-ii-two
Warrior II.

choose your level: Beginner 1, Beginner 2, Intermediate, or Advanced. I’m at Beginner 2 right now, and I’m loving it! Beginner 1 is really good if you’ve never done yoga at all before. It’s chock full of really easy postures to understand and execute. My description of Beginner 2 is, “I’ve done yoga before, but I’m not the best at it.” I haven’t graduated to Intermediate or Advanced yet, but I’m planning to write more about this app in the future. When I do, I’ll let you know what level I am!

After your level, you choose the duration of your session. For full practice, you can do anywhere from 15 minutes all the way up to 80 minutes.

Then comes the “More Options” section. You can’t actually change any of these without having a paid membership at $3.99 a month (USD). However, the general settings are good enough that, if you don’t use the app every day, you probably don’t even need to upgrade.

My Thoughts.

I freakin’ love this app for so many reasons.

  1. Every single practice is different. That’s one of the things advertised about this app, and they’re not lying. Sure, you do some of the same poses, but the overall flow of each session is completely different.
  2. Adrienne (the creator of the app) has such a soothing and educational voice. In addition to that, it’s easy to follow. It’s a human guiding your practice, and her descriptions of what to do are spot on. There is some yoga lingo in there (“root through the Ls of your hands,” “lengthen through the crown”), but it’s still really easy to follow.
  3. Speaking of being easy to follow, I can actually do these practices without looking at my phone. This may be because I know some of the yoga poses by heart now or because I’ve become accustomed to how the lady in the app describes each pose. If you can’t do this, though, the app will actually show you the pose. And it’s a real person doing it, too! It’s only pictures of the finished poses, though, so the transitions between asanas are really up to you.
  4. It’s so versatile. I can choose a 10-minute restorative practice or an 80-minute full practice. There’s such a wide variety of options to choose from, even if you only stick with the free version.
  5. The levels are spot on. As I said before, I’m a Beginner 2. Beginner 1 was perfect for me when I was getting the feel of how the app worked, but I’ve been practicing yoga for a few weeks now, so I graduated to Beginner 2 after a few days. If you know you’re better than Beginner 1 but not quite at the Intermediate level yet, Beginner 2 is perfect. With this type of thing, it can be so easy to go from Downward Facing Dog (one of the most basic yoga postures) to twisting your body into an inverted pretzel. This app, however does not do that.

The Bottom Line.

This app, in my opinion, absolutely rocks, and I can’t wait to use it more. I’ve been using it 1-2 times a day for about a week now, and my free trial period of the membership is almost up. I’ll definitely be upgrading, though, because I like the extra features you get, and I like to support people who do things I appreciate.

Let me know in the comments if you’ve ever heard of this app or if you’ll be using it now!

signature

2 thoughts on “Down Dog App Review.

Leave a Reply

