In my last post, I said I was going to delete Facebook altogether. So far, I’ve just deactivated it.
Today, I want to take you through the steps I had to take and hoops I had to jump through to deactivate my Facebook.
This is the first step. This is when the plug-pulling begins.
This is what happens when you click “Deactivate your account” on the last step. They pick five completely random people and make sure you know that these five random people will certainly miss you if you quit Facebook. Here’s where they try to get you to feel guilty and have second thoughts.
They also want you to tell them exactly why you want to quit Facebook. I clicked the “I spend too much time using Facebook” option and opted out of receiving emails from Facebook.
And here we have a popup. Once I clicked “Deactivate” on the last step, this little guy showed up. Just to make sure I know that I have the power to edit my notification settings whenever I want. They even had not one but two links for me to go to my notification settings.
Once I clicked out of the popup and again clicked “Deactivate,” they tried one last-ditch effort to get me to say. Honestly, it was kind of nice to know exactly what would be hidden and what would stay. But still. This is a thinly-veiled attempt, I think, to get me to stay. Not happening, Facebook. But nice try.
Finally, I’m done! This is the last thing you see after you deactivate your Facebook account. They tell you that all you have to do is log in and your account will be active again.
I’m still planning to fully delete my account, I just wanted to get the damn thing gone for now.